UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN River Falls
J. H. Ames Suites was completed in 2012 and provides beds for 240 students. Arranged in eleven 22-person "pods," the building was specifically designed to accommodate the needs of second year students transitioning from their first year experience into more independent living as upperclassmen. Each pod contains two single occupancy rooms and ten double occupancy rooms. Multiple restroom/lavatory/shower room combinations serve each pod. A living room, kitchenette and pantry complement the remainder of each suite.
A main feature of the building is the Ann Lydecker Living Learning Center, which connects the J. H. Ames Suites to the South Fork Suites building. Featuring five multipurpose spaces, lounge space, and a fireplace, the Center provides programming opportunities for all residents in the J. H. Ames Suites and for residence life programs.
J. H. Ames Suites is the second building on campus to be named for Jesse H. Ames who served from 1917 to 1946 as President of River Falls Normal School and later River Falls State Teachers College. The J. H. Ames Laboratory School, built in 1962 and later known as the Ames Teacher Education Center, was demolished to make way for the new University Center. A new education building was dedicated on May 10, 2000, as the Walker D. Wyman Education building.
A full history of the university during Ames' tenure and a description of his accomplishments can be found on the History through Leadership - Jesse H. Ames page.