Distinguished Teacher

Distinguished Teacher

Excellence in teaching is valued above all endeavors at the University of Wisconsin-River Falls. To recognize this essential mission, the university initiated the Distinguished Teaching Award in 1965. It is the most prestigious honor bestowed on campus. Chosen by current students and alumni (within the last 5 years), our distinguished teaching recipients represent talented and caring educators–teachers who make a difference. The recognition wall honors that select group of individuals who have demonstrated excellence in their profession.

"The award originated as a grant to the State University System from the Johnson Foundation. Formerly given every other year, an additional grant from the Murphy Foundation has made it possible for each of the nine state universities to make the award annually," according to the fall 1970 WSU-RF Falcon Features.

Funding is provided by the UW-River Falls Foundation.

Distinguished Teacher Wall 

Nomination Form

Nominations due by March 19, 2021

Nomination Guidelines

  • The recipient can be nominated by all current students and alumni (within the last 5 years) of UW-River Falls.
  • Reflect upon the various faculty you have had at UW-River Falls and select the faculty who most challenged and stimulated you.
  • List the name of your first and second choices on the nomination form.
  • For each teacher selected, write a concise description of their qualities that led you to select them.

Previous honorees are not eligible.