Chancellor's Award for Excellence for Academic Staff

Chancellor's Award for Excellence for Academic Staff

2022 Nominations Process Timeline: TBD


The Chancellor's Academic Staff Excellence Award is presented annually to academic staff members who have made an outstanding contribution to the university.

Starting in 2021, the award was expanded to recognize individual academic staff employees in three categories:

  • Limited Appointees
  • Non-Instructional Academic Staff
  • Instructional Academic Staff

Also new in 2021 was the award for a program category, to recognize a unit, department or program primarily staffed by academic staff which demonstrates excellence of performance, initiative and creativity, and outstanding achievement.

Individual Award criteria:

  1. Success in fulfilling the overall responsibilities of the job;
  2. Participation in university service projects outside of the job; and
  3. Human relations (interpersonal skills, attitude, support, etc.).

Program Award criteria:

  1. Excellence of Performance – how has the unit/program/department become a model of high standards, professionalism and efficiency
  2. Initiative and Creativity – how has the unit/program/department’s performance demonstrated innovation or improved performance and productivity.
  3. Outstanding Achievement – how has the unit/program/department contributed to the UW-River Falls mission and impacted the distinctiveness of the campus

Nomination Process:
Anyone can nominate an eligible employee or program for this award. Nominators are responsible for:

  • Filling out the Nomination Form
  • Obtaining at least one additional letter of support.
    • Letters can come from employees and students.
    • Letters should be emailed to

Nomination materials should describe how the nominee meets the selection criteria listed above.

Selection Process:
Selection is made by a committee that is charged with reviewing nomination materials, which makes a recommendation to the Chancellor for final approval. Membership of the committee includes the Chancellor's designee (chair), the previous year's recipient, and one member appointed by the Faculty Senate, the Academic Staff Council, and the Student Senate.