Chancellor's Award for Students

Do you know a student who has significantly contributed to making UW-River Falls a better place? Nominate them for the Chancellor's Award for Students! The Chancellor's Award for Students is the highest non-academic honor a student can receive at UW-River Falls.  


The Award

In 1977, the Chancellor and the Student Affairs staff began considering a way of honoring UWRF students who had made significant non-academic contributions to the university. In 1980, the Chancellor's Award for Students was first awarded to five recipients. Since then, 5-12 students have been selected every year to receive this honor in recognition of their service to UW-River Falls.

Awards are presented at the annual Chancellor's Award for Students reception to which the recipients, their families, fellow students and faculty are invited.


Must be an upper-class student or graduate student.
Must be in good academic standing.
Must not be a past recipient of the award.

Criteria for Selection

1.  A student should have a commitment to the core values of the institution.
2.  A positive, inspiring attitude.
3.  Courage, innovation and creativity.

Nomination materials should highlight one of the following areas:

Undergraduate Research

  • Uphold the mission of URSCA by supporting and promoting the culture of undergraduate research, scholarly and creative activity across campus. Show exceptional leadership when attending professional meetings and conferences. 


  • Shows leadership in our university's core values - inclusiveness. A student commits to creating an environment of mutual respect, professional behavior, academic freedom and appreciation of individual differences and rich cultural diversity. 
  • As an inclusive leader, a student understands the systemic concepts of social justice and promotes inclusivity in our campus community.


  • The student will be an advocate and participant in global and international campus programs. Provide global awareness and participate in the various international programs offered. 

Service to the Community

  • The student shows leadership that fosters hope and change within a community.

Service to the University

  • Enriching the lives of fellow students, building better student organizations, and contributing to a more just and caring campus. 

Nomination Process

The nomination form, a resume of the nominee, a letter of nomination, and at least two letters of support are required. Incomplete nominations will not be considered. Letters may come from:

  • UWRF faculty or advisers
  • UWRF staff
  • Organization leaders
  • Fellow students
  • Candidates themselves

All documents must be submitted by email from the nominator to by March 10, 2017. In the subject line write "Chancellor's Award" and the student's name. All nomination materials should be attached to the email in MS Word or PDF document format.

Selection Committee

  • Chancellor's designee (chair),
  • two appointees from Student Senate,
  • one appointee from Student Affairs,
  • one faculty member from each of the four academic colleges.


Award for Students 2017 

Recipients of the 2017 Chancellor's Award for Students, pictured with Chancellor Van Galen, from left to right:

  • Chancellor Dean Van Galen;
  • Kate Theisen, major in business administration (management/economics) with minor in German;
  • Pang Tao Moua, major in communication sciences and disorders;
  • Xiaoqi (Kiki) Wang, major in TESOL;
  • Brittany Rambatt, major in agriculture education;
  • Alex Klapoetke, major in agriculture education with minor in biology education;
  • Chris Morgan, major in economics and political science.