Midwest Student Exchange Program participating states graphic


Midwest Student Exchange Program

What is the Midwest Student Exchange Program?

The Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP) is a tuition reduction program that makes attending out-of-state colleges and universities more affordable for non-resident students. If you are a qualifying resident of a participating state, and not in Undergraduate Programs with Special Tuition Rates, you will receive a reduced tuition rate at UW-River Falls. 

How does it work?

Through the MSEP, public institutions agree to charge non-resident students no more than 150% of the in-state resident tuition rate. You must be in a qualifying program of study to be eligible. 

What states participate in MSEP?

Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and Ohio participate in MSEP.

Minnesota residents: Minnesota residents have a separate tuition reciprocity agreement and should apply online to pay a tuition rate comparable to a state university in Minnesota.  

How do I enroll in MSEP?

A student’s residency status is determined upon admission and UWRF uses that status to qualify students for the Midwest Student Exchange Program, therefore enrollment in the MSEP is automatic, so long as a student enrolls as a degree-seeking student in a qualifying program.

Status in the MSEP program is renewed automatically for students who maintain good standing and continuous (fall and spring) full-time enrollment.

About MSEP

UW-River Falls MSEP information

Explore Campus 
Take a sneak peek of the UW-River Falls campus.

Contact Us

Admissions Office
M-F, 8 a.m.- 4:30 p.m.
112 South Hall