Faculty and Academic Staff Development

Keith Wurtz Award for Teaching Excellence

Rewarding innovations in teaching and learning, the Keith Wurtz Award for Teaching Excellence endowment supports up to two faculty awards per academic year. The award is designed to support innovators and those who demonstrate "trailblazing" characteristics that may include innovative approaches to teaching, demonstrated scholarship of teaching and learning (e.g. publishing a journal article or textbook), innovative use of technology, curriculum development, effective assessment approaches and results, outreach and partnerships with collaborators on- or off-campus.  

Keith Wurtz

From his early career as a high school teacher to retirement as a clinical surgical professor at Stritch School of Medicine in Chicago, Wurtz, '41, dedicated his life to the teaching and healing professions. Named the UWRF Distinguished Alumnus in 1980, Wurtz shared his passions through an endowment that will foster and acknowledge faculty-teaching excellence at UWRF.

As an agricultural education and science major, Wurtz was a bit of a renaissance man as a college debater, Student Voice reporter, Honor Society member and intramural athlete. He credited his college days at River Falls with opening doors to medicine, surgery, education and community service. Wurtz, who received his M.D. from Northwestern University, was chief of surgery and a consulting surgeon at several hospitals, including the Veteran's Administration Hospital in Hines, III.

The new Dr. Keith G. Wurtz Fund Award for Teaching Excellence will ensure that the good doctor's prescription for excellence and passion in education will continue for years to come. (Courtesy of UWRF Falcon Features, April 2007)

Expense Information 

Funding is contingent upon available budget for the fiscal year and the balance available from earlier rounds.

If you requested and were approved in

Round 1: Submit all expenses that are dated between July 1 and June 30 
Round 2: Submit only expenses that are dated between October 1 and June 30

  • If your plans are “tentative,” apply for the earliest round available as the unused award can be returned.
  • FASDB cannot retroactively fund expenses for expenses not within the dates of the round awarded.
  • Expenses must be processed within 30 days after your travel. 
  • If travel is after June 1, please expense anything that can be expensed before that date. Submit the rest of the expense as soon as possilble upon returning.

Application Process

As of March 2, 2020, the application for this award has been moved from paper format to online submissions. 

If you have already submitted a paper application, there is no need to submit an online application.
A Brief Overview of How to Proceed:
If you have any issues, please contact fasdb.

  • Complete an application (click below), including the following:
  • Department chair's electronic signature. You will identify your chair, and once the application is submitted, this person will receive an email asking to provide an electronic signature.



If you haven't received a final email that tells you that your application was sent to the committee, please check on the progress. The application is considered NOT complete until all parts have been submitted by 4:30 p.m. on the due date.

Contact Us

Faculty and Academic Development Board