Centennial: Theme

Defining our Centennial Theme:

Students. Teaching. Purpose.

Always for our students...
Always teaching to the best of our ability...
Always so our students may achieve their greater purpose...

Always for our students...
From the earliest days of the program when faculty helped to build the dairy herd by securing bank loans with personal notes,  to the present when faculty have established scholarships to provide financial support for students or loaned students the funds for an international experience, our faculty and staff have always put students and their educational aspirations first.

Always teaching to the best of our ability...
Since it's inception in 1965, seventeen faculty members affiliated with our College have been awarded UWRF's Distinguished Teacher of the Year Award. This is the most prestigious award bestowed on campus and made more meaningful because the selection is made by graduating seniors and recent graduates.  

Lee Wittwer
Phil George
Richard Gray
Lewi May
Gary Rohde
Dewey Wachholz
Dean Henderson
Kelly Cain
Jerry Matteson
Terry Ferriss
Jerry Nolte
Perry Clark
Tom Goerke
Steve Kelm
Bill Mahanna
Nate Splett
Larry Meyers

Always so our students may achieve their greater purpose... 
Whether that purpose is advancing to become Vice-President of sales for Northrup-King Seed (Verne Palmberg '51), returning home to join the family business (Matt Bayer '95), living around the world to provide humanitarian relief to those struggling to survive (Sig Hanson '75), introducing the breadth of agriculture to young minds while trying to keep track of your own toddlers (Hayley Prusak '92, '06)  or choosing to return to UWRF and teach the next generation (from Thorvald Thoreson '35 to Kari Ekenstedt '01 and many others in between!) we are delighted to see our graduates make their mark on the world.

Distinguished Teachers: Perry Clark
Distinguished Teachers: Larry Meyers
Distinguished Teachers: Terry Ferriss
Distinguished Teachers: Rohde, Henderson and Wachholz
Distinguished Teachers: Lewi May
Distinguished Teachers: Phil George