College of Business and Economics honors students

May 9, 2016 -- The University of Wisconsin-River Falls College of Business and Economics (CBE) honored students at an awards ceremony April 18. UW-River Falls Chancellor Dean Van Galen delivered a welcome and Michael Fronmueller, CBE Dean, presided.

The Dean's Special Recognition Award, given for "noteworthy performance on a class project or paper (above and beyond expectation), service to the college or community, service to the external community, or other reasons such as overcoming serious impediments, being a good role model or contributing to and ethical environment" went to Sharon Augustinovich of Somerset, Kirstin Bethke of St. Paul, Roderick Babilius of River Falls, Michael Mader of St. Paul, Eddie Matsushima of Verona, Zach Merrick of Salem, Ken Peck of Woodbury, Minn., Martha Connors Roth of Prescott, and Dave Hudson of St. Croix Falls.

More than $21,000 in scholarships were awarded to CBE students. Graduating seniors were also honored for their academic performance.

The following students were named to the 2016-17 CBE Student Advisory Board where they will assist CBE in improving the student experience:  Emily Anderson of Hayward; Roderick Babilius of River Falls; Carolyn Little of Minneapolis; Nathan Hanson of New Richmond; Jack Jin of Zhejlang, YiWu; David Murphy of Anoka, Minn.; Miles Peterson of Chisago City, Minn.; Collins Poulese of Maharashtra, India; Justin Stanger of Lakeland, Minn.; and Reid Wilson of St. Paul.

The following students were inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma, the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International:  Rachel Allen of Cloquet, Minn., Alyssa Aguilera of New Richmond, Briana Bechel of River Falls, Jacob Bechel of River Falls, Holly Bjerke of New Richmond, Travis Bretoi of Circle Pines, Minn., Evan Caye of Minneapolis, Abby Dery of Minneapolis, Kellie Gerdts of Mankato, Minn., Josie Gilbertson of St. Paul, Alexandra Malecha of Northfield, Minn., Renee McMillan of Loretto, Minn., David Murphy of Anoka, Minn., Nancy Schmitt of Hudson, Kimberly Stickfort of Stillwater, Minn., Connor Westcott of River Falls, and Katelyn Yorek of Little Falls, Minn.

For more information, email or call 715-425-3335.

Contact Us

University Communications
and Marketing
120 North Hall
Phone: 715-425-3771
Fax: 715-425-4486