UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN River Falls

Canvas Transition

Instructors: Canvas Training

The Teaching and Learning Technologies Department is providing Canvas training in Fall 2018 for Faculty and Instructional Academic Staff that will be teaching in Canvas in J-Term 2019 and Spring 2019.

Weekly One-Hour Training Sessions and Materials 10/4/2018-12/6/2018

Weekly one-hour long training sessions focused on a specific topic

  • Held on Thursdays from 2:30pm to 3:30pm in DL 101 from October until December, with a break during Thanksgiving week.
  • DL 101 is in the lower level of the Davee Library and has 32 Windows PCs and wireless access for personal devices.
  • Please feel free to bring your laptop to the training session if you would prefer to work on your own computer rather than the computer in the training room.
  • Prior to the training sessions, please feel free to view the training videos available on the Canvas Support page of the Canvas Transition website.
  • The below table provides the dates, times, and topics of these training sessions.
  • Please email TLT@uwrf.edu if you plan to attend the training, with the subject line: Canvas training attendance.

Date, Time, and Location

Topics

Thursday, October 4, 2018
2:30pm – 3:30pm
DL 101 (32 Windows PCs)

Global Navigation/Settings and Announcements [Slide Show] [Video]

Thursday, October 11, 2018
2:30pm – 3:30pm
DL 101 (32 Windows PCs)

Course Navigation – Syllabus, Attendance and Chat [Slide Show] [Video]

Thursday, October 18, 2018
2:30pm – 3:30pm
DL 101 (32 Windows PCs)

Modules/Pages [Slide Show] [Video]

Thursday, October 25, 2018
2:30pm – 3:30pm
DL 101 (32 Windows PCs)

Assignments/Discussions [Slide Show] [Video]

Thursday, November 1, 2018
2:30pm – 3:30pm
DL 101 (32 Windows PCs)

Groups/Collaboration (includes Office 365) [Slide Show] [Video]

Thursday, November 8, 2018
2:30pm – 3:30pm
DL 101 (32 Windows PCs)

Quizzes [Slide Show] [Video]

Thursday, November 15, 2018
2:30pm – 3:30pm
DL 101 (32 Windows PCs)

Grading/Outcomes [Slide Show] [Video]

Thursday, November 29, 2018
2:30pm – 3:30pm
DL 101 (32 Windows PCs)

Integrations (includes Office 365)

Thursday December 6, 2018
2:30pm – 3:30pm
DL 101 (32 Windows PCs)

Copying from master course template to eSIS course/Canvas course checklist

Weekly Three-Hour Canvas Immersion Workshops 10/3/2018-1/26/2019

Weekly three-hour long Canvas immersion workshops

  • The three-hour long immersion workshops cover all topics related to developing a course in Canvas.
  • Instructors are welcome to attend the immersion workshops and weekly training sessions.
  • Please feel free to bring your laptop to the training session if you would prefer to work on your own computer rather than the computer in the training room.
  • Prior to the training sessions, please feel free to view the training videos available on the Canvas Support page of the Canvas Transition website.
  • The below table provides the dates, times, and locations of these sessions. Please review the table for the specific logistical information for each session.
  • Please email TLT@uwrf.edu if you plan to attend the training, with the subject line: Canvas training attendance.

Date, Time, and Location

Topics

Wednesday, October 3, 2018
1:00pm – 4:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Wednesday, October 10, 2018
1:00pm – 4:00pm
DL 331 (26 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Wednesday, October 17, 2018
1:00pm – 4:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Wednesday, October 24, 2018
1:00pm – 4:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
1:00pm – 4:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Wednesday, November 7, 2018
1:00pm – 4:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Friday, November 9, 2018
9:00am – 12:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Wednesday, November 14, 2018
1:00pm – 4:00pm
DL 164 (26 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Wednesday, November 21, 2018
1:00pm – 4:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Wednesday, November 28, 2018
1:00pm – 4:00pm
DL 331 (26 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Tuesday, December 4, 2018
9:30am – 12:30pm
DL 331 (26 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

**Cancelled due to staff absence.
Please select another session to attend.**

 

Canvas immersion workshop

Tuesday, December 11, 2018
9:30am – 12:30pm
DL 331 (26 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Wednesday, December 12, 2018
1:00pm – 4:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Tuesday, December 18, 2018
9:00am – 12:00pm
DL 101 (32 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Wednesday, December 19, 2018
1:00pm – 4:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Thursday, December 20, 2018
10:00am – 1:00pm
DL 161 (35 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Thursday, December 27, 2018
9:00am – 12:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Friday, December 28, 2018
9:00am – 12:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Thursday, January 3, 2019
9:00am – 12:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Friday, January 4, 2019
9:00am – 12:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Tuesday, January 8, 2019
9:00am – 12:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Wednesday, January 9, 2019
9:00am – 12:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Thursday, January 10, 2019
9:00am – 12:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Tuesday, January 15, 2019
9:00am – 12:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Wednesday, January 16, 2019
9:00am – 12:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Thursday, January 17, 2019
9:00am – 12:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Thursday, January 17, 2019
5:30pm – 8:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Saturday, January 19, 2019
9:00am – 12:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Tuesday, January 22, 2019
1:00pm – 4:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Wednesday, January 23, 2019
10:00am – 1:00pm
DL 331 (26 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Thursday, January 24, 2019
9:00am – 12:00pm
DL 331 (26 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Thursday, January 24, 2019
5:30pm – 8:00pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Saturday, January 26, 2019
9:00am – 12:00pm
DL 101 (32 Windows PCs)

Canvas immersion workshop

Spring 2019 Canvas Training Sessions 1/29/2019-2/13/2019

Spring 2019 Canvas Training Sessions

Date, Time, and Location

Topics

Tuesday, January 29, 2019
10:30am – 12:00pm
DL 331 (26 Windows PCs)


Open lab drop-in assistance available

Tuesday, January 29, 2019
2:00pm – 3:30pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)


Open lab drop-in assistance available

Thursday, January 31, 2019
10:30am – 12:00pm
DL 331 (26 Windows PCs)

Canvas 90 minute workshop

Tuesday, February 5, 2019
2:00pm – 3:30pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas 90 minute workshop

Wednesday, February 6, 2019
11:30am – 1:00pm
DL 331 (26 Windows PCs)

Canvas 90 minute workshop


Tuesday, February 12, 2019
2:00pm – 3:30pm
DL 164 (41 Windows PCs)

Canvas 90 minute workshop

Wednesday, February 13, 2019
11:30am – 1:00pm
DL 331 (26 Windows PCs)

Canvas 90 minute workshop