This website presents socio-economic indicators for Chisago County and Washington County in eastern Minnesota and Pierce County, Polk County, and St. Croix County in western Wisconsin. These five counties, encompassing the St. Croix River Valley, have a combined population of more than 460,000 residents.

While the St. Croix River delineates the state border between Minnesota and Wisconsin in this region, it is also the unifying feature for these five counties.

The St. Croix Valley is adjacent to the core counties that contain Minneapolis and St. Paul, Minnesota and are frequently influenced by the conditions in the “Twin Cities” and its environs. 

The Metropolitan Council of the Twin Cities includes Washington County in the “Seven County Metro Area” and the remaining four counties in the metro “Ring Counties.” The U.S. Census Bureau includes four of the five counties (excluding Polk County, Wisconsin) in the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). 

Despite the many factors shaping the regional identity of the St. Croix River Valley, the data presented in this website also show significant variation in terms of socio-economic well-being across these five counties. These analyses are based on data available at the time of development and may need to be adjusted from time to time as new data become available.


United Way Washington County

Hugh J. Andersen Foundation

Bremer Bank

UWSCV_vertical_Logo 2011_220w
St. Croix Valley Foundation
Andersen Corporation Foundation

Contact Us

State of the Valley
Brad Kruse-Program Director
Hugh J. Andersen Foundation