Wisconsin Distinguished Agriculturalist Award

The Wisconsin Distinguished Agriculturalist Award is sponsored by the UW-River Falls College of Agriculture, Food, and Environmental Sciences and is presented to an individual in the agricultural or natural resources fields who has provided outstanding leadership, service, and other contributions to the agricultural community.

The selection of the Wisconsin Distinguished Agriculturalist is based on the following criteria:

  • Leadership positions and activities related to agriculture and/or natural resources.
  • Contributions to and association with the UW-River Falls and CAFES.
  • Statewide recognition for contributions to agriculture.
  • National and international activities and accomplishments.
  • Accomplishments and activities that extend beyond the individual's normal employment.

This is not an award for recognizing contributions to an individual department within CAFES or a specific group, but rather for contributions to the entire agricultural and natural resource community.

Jim Holte Distinguished Ag
Congratulations to Jim Holte, President of the Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation (WFBF) and recently elected to the American Farm Bureau Federation Board of Directors, who was named the 2015 Wisconsin Distinguished Agriculturalist!
His involvement with the WFBF began with their Young Farmer program, and eventually led to his election to the WFBF Board of Directors, representing Northwestern Wisconsin. Holte formerly chaired the Wisconsin Livestock Siting Review Board, served on the boards for GROWMARK, Inc. and Leadership Wisconsin, and served as a citizen board member for the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection. He is also a past president of the Wisconsin Beef Council and a graduate of the Wisconsin Rural Leadership Program. In 2005 he was named a Wisconsin Master Agriculturist. Holte owns Riv-r-vale Farms in Elk Mound and served 18 years on the Elk Mound school board. Read the news release.

Past Award Winners

2015 Jim Holte
2014 Terri Dallas
2013 Len Bayer
2012 Dean Gagnon
2011 Juris Plesums
2010 Lee Milligan (d)
2009 James Wysocki
2008 Shaun Duvall
2007 Ed Hass
2006 Christine Jumbeck
2005 Barbara Gronemus
2004 Virgil O. Martinson
2003 Bob Bosold
2002 R. Douglas Wilson
2001 James Harsdorf
2000 Rod Rommel
1999 Will Dahl
1998 Ken Sipple (d)
1997 Loren Wolfe
1996 John P. Selz
1995 Rod Nilsestuen (d)
1994 Lee C. Hansen
1993 Russ Weisensel
1992 Louis Wysocki
1991 Robert and Karen Schauf
1990 Robert E. Walton
1989 Fritz Friday
1988 John Rosenow
1987 Arnold Cordes (d)
1986 LaVerne Ausman
1985 Thomas L. Lyon
1984 Ralph Yohe (d)
1983 Floyd Doering (d)
1982 Glen Gearing (d)
1981 Howard McCarty (d)
1980 Wayne Danielson
1979 Myron Mommsen (d)
1978 Art Kurtz (d)
1977 Gilbert Rohde (d)
1976 Wallace Jerome (d)
1975 Lyle Lamphere (d) and Norm Christianson (d)
1974 Leonard Peck
1973 Glenn Gerhard (d)
1972 Dale Aebischer (d)
1971 Ken Wallin (d)
1970 Don McDowell (d)

d = deceased

CAFES Outstanding Faculty Award

This award is presented to an outstanding faculty member in the College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences, selected by their peers. The recipient is announced at the annual CAFES Awards Banquet.

Eric Sanden Outstanding Teacher
Eric Sanden (pictured with Dean Gallenberg), professor in Plant and Earth Science, received the 2015 CAFES Outstanding Teacher Award.

Past Award Winners

2015 Eric Sanden
2014 Brian Smith
2013 Bill Anderson
2012 Sylvia Kehoe
2011 Don Taylor
2010 Steve Kelm
2009 Dean Olson
2008 Mike Kaltenberg
2007 Tony Jilek
2006 Gary Onan
2005 Steve Carlson
2004 Jerry Nechville
2003 Stan Schraufnagel
2002 Bob Butler
2001 Jim Shatava
2000 Bill Cordua
1999 Dick Jensen
1998 Lou Greub
1997 Lewi May
1996 Perry Clark
1995 Ian Williams
1994 Jerry Matteson
1993 Dean Henderson
1992 Chuck Jones
1991 Larry Kasten
1990 Phil George
1989 Jerry Nolte
1988 Terry Ferris
1987 Bill Mahanna
1986 Larry Meyers
1985 Bob Baker
1984 Lee Wittwer

Contact Us

College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences
Fax 715-425-3785
210 Agricultural Science
611 S. 3rd St.
Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Linked In Icon InstaGram Icon YouTube Icon