Chancellor's Award for Students

Do you know a student who has significantly contributed to making UW-River Falls a better place? Nominate them for the Chancellor's Award for Students!


The Award:

In 1977, the Chancellor and the Student Affairs staff began considering a way of honoring UWRF students who had made significant non-academic contributions to the university. In 1980, the Chancellor's Award for Students was first awarded to five recipients. Since then, 5-12 students have been selected every year to receive this honor in recognition of their service to UW-River Falls.

Awards are presented at the annual Chancellor's Award Reception to which the recipients, their families, fellow students and faculty are invited.


Must be an upper-class student or graduate student.
Must be in good academic standing.
Must not be a past recipient of the award.

Criteria for Selection:

Nomination materials should highlight in particular the following accomplishments and attributes of the candidate:
  •  Demonstrated service to the university, defined as:
    • Enriching the lives of fellow students,
    • Building better student organizations,
    • Contributing to a more just and caring campus.
  •  Exceptional leadership skills, such as:
    • Commitment to the core values of the institution,
    • A positive, inspiring attitude,
    • Courage, innovation and creativity.

Nomination Process:

The nomination form, a current resume of the nominee, a letter of nomination,  and at least two letters of support are required.  Incomplete nominations will not be considered.  Letters may come from:

  • UWRF faculty or advisers
  • UWRF staff
  • Organization leaders
  • Fellow students
  • Candidate themselves

All documents must be submitted by email from the nominator to In the subject line please write: "Chancellor's Award" and the student's name. All nomination materials should be attached to the email in MS Word or PDF document format.

The Selection Committee:

  • Chancellor's designee (chair),
  • two appointees from Student Senate,
  • one appointee from Student Affairs,
  • one faculty member from each of the four academic colleges.


 2013 CA-Students   
Award Photot Students 

Recipients of the 2016 Chancellor's Award for Students, pictured with Chancellor Dean Van Galen from left to right:

  • Jessica (JJ) Knapp, Major in Art History and Photography
  • Madeleine Pemberton, Major in Elementary Education with minors in Early Childhood and Spanish
  • Emma Sweet, Major in Biology and Spanish
  • Chancellor Dean Van Galen
  • Angela Ludvigsen, Major in Physics and Math
  • Marie-Morella Kponou, Major in Biology (Biomedical) with minors in Chemistry and French
  • Mohammad Battah, Major in Biology (Biomedical)