The Dalkeith House facility is an 18th century manor house known to the Scots as Dalkeith Palace. Anne of Buccleuch, the first Duchess of Buccleuch, commissioned James Smith, Scotland's leading architect at the time, to build the house in its present form on the remains of the original Dalkeith Castle (built in the 12th century) during the period of 1701-1711. The "Palace" is a magnificent example of late William & Mary architecture. It is renowned for its fine oak paneling and carvings, and is considered one of Scotland's grandest early classical houses. The interior of the house still includes a large amount of marble, including a large marble staircase, all of which was introduced by Anne of Buccleuch. The George IV addition was built prior to George IV's stay at Dalkeith Palace on his first visit to Scotland in 1832. He used the Music Room to receive Scottish noblemen and dignitaries. In 1842 Queen Victoria and Prince Albert were also guests. The house was last used as a Buccleuch family residence prior to WWI and during WWII it was used to billet soldiers of the Polish Free Army. Since 1986 the house has been home to the Experience Scotland program. The house is spacious and provides room for residence life and food service facilities, classrooms, offices, lounge areas, laundry and recreation rooms.