

# Minutes of the UWRF Faculty Senate for December 15, 2009 Vol. 34 No. 10.

Representation	Term Expires 2010	Term Expires 2011	Term Expires 2012
CAFES	Kris Hiney	Laine Vignona	
	Wes Chapin	Patricia Berg	
	Karl Peterson	John Heppen	7
		Jennifer Willis-	7
CAS		Rivera	David Rainville
			Todd Savage**
COEPS		Hilary Pollack	(Rellen Hardtke)
CBE			Hossein Najafi
	Kristie Feist		Barbara Stinson**
4th Division	Kristen Hendrickson	Valerie Malzacher	(Brad Mogen)
		Kathleen Hunzer	Robyne Tiedeman
			Marshall Toman**
	Michelle Parkison	Dennis Cooper	(Steve Luebke)
At Large	David Furniss		Dawn Hukai
	Fernando Delgado* **		
	(Nan Jordahl)		

- \* Chancellor's Designee
- \*\* Absent
- () Substitute

**Call to Order:** David Rainville called the meeting to order at 3:32 p.m.

**Seating of Substitutes:** Nan Jordahl for Fernando Delgado, Brad Mogen for Barbara Stinson, Rellen Hardtke for Todd Savage, Steve Luebke for Marshall Toman

Recognition of Invited Guests: Stephen Reed

## Chair's Report:

Chair David Rainville reported that he attended two meetings in Madison recently. At the Faculty Representatives meeting, several issues were discussed, including furloughs and UW System initiative to create a portal that students could use to register for online courses System-wide. Also discussed was the topic of unit clarification and limited appointments. The issue of salary savings was also brought up. At the Board of Regents

meeting, differential tuition was discussed. As of this morning, Governor Doyle vetoed having regional representation on the Board of Regents.

## **Vice Chair's Report:**

## **Other Reports**:

University Website Redesign - Stephen Reed: Reed reported on the progress of the website redesign. He informed Faculty Senate of the members of the project team, and that the best way to stay informed of the progress of the redesign is to visit <a href="www.uwrf.edu/webhelp">www.uwrf.edu/webhelp</a>. Reed showed a timeline of the process. He discussed the results of a recent survey about the current campus website.

## **New Business Consent Agenda:**

**1.** Approval of Program Change in Women's Studies - Women's and Gender Studies:

Approval of the consent agenda was moved by Kathleen Hunzer and seconded by Jennifer Willis-Rivera. The consent agenda passed by a vote of 19 for, 0 opposed, and 0 abstentions.

## **New Business:**

1. A proposal from the Executive Committee to approve a **resolution** from the Sustainability Working Group (Kelly Cain, Chair) in support of the Executive Order on federal Leadership in Environmental, Energy, and Economic Performance. The resolution is as follows:

# **UWRF Faculty Senate Resolution in Support of President Obama's Executive Order on "Federal Leadership in Environmental, Energy, and Economic Performance (October 5, 2009)**

Whereas UW-River Falls is committed to sustainable community development as a learning outcome and as an operational outcome as defined in Goal 2 of our Strategic Plan.

And whereas UWRF is one of four designated campuses working to be "Off the Grid by 2012;

And whereas UWRF is committed to carbon neutrality as a signatory to the American Colleges and Universities President's Climate Commitment;

And whereas UWRF is committed to local, state, national, and international leadership in all aspects of energy and material efficiency as a sustainable campus-community;

Therefore be it resolved that the Faculty Senate of UWRF, on this day of \_\_\_\_\_\_, hereby lends its full and unequivocal support for President Barack Obama's Executive Order for "Federal Leadership in Environmental, Energy, and Economic Performance", dated October 5, 2009 (attached hereto), and commit to its values, principles, and

practices as it applies as a minimum baseline for performance as a campus-community.

# http://www.whitehouse.gov/assets/documents/2009fedleader\_eo\_rel.pdf

A motion to move this forward was made by Michelle Parkinson and seconded by John Heppen. The motion passed by a vote of 17 for, 1 opposed, and 1 abstention.

**2.** A **motion** from the Executive Committee to approve the appointment of the following faculty to the Search and Screen Committee for the Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Director of Graduate Studies:

Scott Woitaszewski, COEPS, Chair Terry Crotty, COEPS Brian Huffman, CBE Mike Middleton, CAFES Robin Murray, CAS

A motion to move this item forward was made by Kristie Feist and seconded by Jennifer Willis-Rivera. The motion passed by a vote of 19 for, 0 opposed, and 0 abstentions.

## **Miscellaneous New Business:**

**1.** Referendum Ballot Counting - Friday December 18, 2009: The ballots are due on December 16. The ballots will be publicly counted on December 18, 2009, in the Willow River Room of the UC at 1 p.m. The ballots will be separated from their envelopes publicly as well.

Hilary Pollack moved for adjournment, and was seconded by Michelle Parkinson. There was no dissention.

Adjournment at 4:42 p.m.