

Faculty Senate • http://www.uwrf.edu/faculty\_senate/welcome.html Senators: Chair – David Rainville , Vice Chair – David Furniss, Secretary – Kris Hiney, Executive Committee – Glenn Potts, Ogden Rogers

Date:	February 16, 2008
To:	Faculty Senate and the University Community
From:	David P. Rainville, Faculty Senate Chair
Subject:	Agenda for Faculty Senate Meeting February 20, 2008

The 2007-2008 Faculty Senate will meet on February 20, 2008 at 3:30 P.M. in the St. Croix Room (Room 321UC) of the University Center. Faculty Senators who cannot attend should arrange for a substitute and notify Kris Hiney at <u>kristina.hiney@uwrf.edu</u>. <u>http://www.uwrf.edu/faculty\_senate</u>

Please note that the program changes from AP&P under the New Business Consent Agenda are not included in the electronic copy.

# **Call to Order**

Seating of Substitutes Recognition of Invited Guests Approval of Minutes from February 6, 2008

## **Reports:**

Chair's Report Vice Chair's Report Other Reports

## **Old Business:**

# New Business: Consent Agenda:

**1.** Proposal Academic Policies and Programs to approve changes to MS in Communicative Disorders and MSE in Communicative Disorders. See attached.

**2.** The Executive Committee proposes the replacement of Maureen Olie-Lajoie (2007-2009) a current member of the Information Sysytem Committee (ISC) to replace Sandy Oftedahl who has resigned. Maureen is currently a member of the IITC.

**3.** The Executive Committee proposes the replacement of Cynthia Kernahan who has resigned from the Diversity Committee with Jose Vega (2007-2010).

**4.** The Executive Committee proposes the appointment of Michael Kahlow and Glenn Spiczak to serve an administrative task force (VSA Taskforce) which will be responsible for shaping our college/university portrait. Both faculty members are members of the External Relations Committee. VSA is an acronym for Voluntary System of Accountability.

**5.** The Executive Committee proposes the replacement of Mary Halada with Kelly Cain as chair of the Sustainability Task Force. Mary will remain on the task force. The other members on the task force include the four confirmed by Faculty Senate last fall, Brian Copp, Judith Raback Wagener, Glenn Potts, and Dean Olsen. It also includes Dale Gallenberg, Jerry Waller, Greg Koehler, and Mike Stifter. The student (Matt Meyer) originally appointed to this task force has graduated. Informally four students were allowed to join this task force. This proposal includes their membership on the task force with the first three to leave not being replaced. These students are Josh Breyer, Nick Bisley, Stacy Dekkers, and Ashley Styczinski. The task force will have a permanent membership of eleven members including one student and one member from each of the colleges. In the interim it will have fourteen members and through attrition (student graduation) it will reach the number eleven.

# **New Business:**

1. First Reading of motion from the Executive Committee:

The Faculty Senate Executive Committee has the power to declare an emergency that requires a University response prior to the next meeting of the Faculty Senate. In such emergencies, the Faculty Senate Executive Committee shall represent the Faculty and act emergently for the Senate for the purposes of shared governance. Any action of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee implemented during a time of emergency will be brought to the Faculty Senate for deliberation and action at the next scheduled meeting of the Faculty Senate.

This motion represents a change in the By-Laws, and will require a second reading by Faculty Senate as well as being voted on by the faculty. It will take effect immediately after adoption.

**2.** First Reading of a motion from the Executive Committee: to include the attached Preface [Motion 2006/2007#65] to the Faculty/Staff Handbook. See attached.

This motion will require a second reading by Faculty Senate.

**3.** First Reading of a motion from the Executive Committee: to adopt the attached revision of Chapter Three of the Faculty/Staff Handbook. See attached.

This motion will require a second reading by Faculty Senate as well as being voted on by the faculty.

# **Miscellaneous New Business**

# Adjournment