

## Minutes of the UWRF Faculty Senate for February 26, 2007,

Representation	Term Expires 2007	Term Expires 2008	Term Expires 2009
	•	Laine Vignona (Kelly	•
CAFES	Bob Baker	Cain)	
		Patricia Berg (David	
	Wes Chapin	Furniss)**	
	Larry Harred**	John Heppen	
	Barbara Werner (Jim		Peter Johansson
CAS	Zimmerman)		
			Michael Miller**
COEPS		Ogden Rogers**	
CBE			Glenn Potts
	Cara Rubis (Kristie		
4th Division	Feist)**	Gregg Heinselman	Sarah Egerstrom**
		Brenda Boetel (Jr)**	Melissa Wilson (Jr)
			David Rainville (Sr)
	Karl Peterson (Jr)	Dawn Hukai (Sr)	(Michael Kahlow)
	Nan Jordahl (Sr)		Terry Ferriss (Sr)
At Large	` ,		
	Charlie Hurt*		

\* Chancellor's Designee

\*\* Absent
() Substitute

**Call to Order:** W. Chapin called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m in the Room 334 of the University Center.

Seating of Substitutes: Kelly Cain for Laine Vignona, Michael Kahlow for David

Rainville, Jim Zimmerman for Barb Werner.

Guests: Don Betz, Mike Reich

**Approval of Minutes:** The minutes of 2-14-07 were approved.

Chair's Report:

Wes Chapin reported that Don Betz was attending this special meeting to address strategic planning motions and that the Senate will meet as scheduled on Feb. 28<sup>th</sup>.

**Unfinished Business:** none

## **New Business:**

**Proposal 1:** A motion from the Executive Committee to seat David Furniss for Patricia Berg and Kristie Feist for Cara Rubis as substitutes for the remainder of the Spring 2007

Semester was first and seconded by Karl Peterson and Peter Johansson respectively. The motion passed by general consent.

**Proposal 2:** A motion from the Executive Committee to adopt a resolution thanking those who have contributed to Strategic Planning was first and seconded by Charlie Hurt and Peter Johansson respectively. The motion passed by general consent.

**Proposal 3**: A motion from the Executive Committee to approve the revised goals, initiatives, and tasks and amend *Handbook* Section 1.3.5 of Chapter 1, removing the existing language and replacing it with new language was first and seconded by Bob Baker and Karl Peterson respectively. Michael Kahlow moved to amend the motion by deleting Goals, Initiatives, and Tasks. Karl Peterson seconded the motion. Nan Jordahl offered a friendly amendment to list just the Goals. There was no objection to the friendly amendment. The amendment with the friendly amendment passed by general consent. Chancellor Betz spoke to the issue and distributed the revised goals, initiatives, and tasks to the senators and reiterated the main points of the documents and strategic planning. Terry Ferriss had questions about teaching, the focus on the regional emphasis on the St. Croix Valley, and the operational issues regarding decision making. Charlie Hurt replied that excellent teaching remains embedded in learning and that academics will be the driving force behind decisions. Don Betz replied that the emphasis on the St. Croix Valley does not limit UWRF to the St. Croix Valley and that it was important to identify UWRF with the region and that decisions will be made based on academics. The motion as amended passed unanimously.

**Proposal 3a:** A motion to approve the revised initiatives and tasks was made by Karl Peterson and seconded by Bob Baker. The motion passed unanimously.

**Proposal 4:** Motion to approve the draft prioritization of initiatives was made by Charlie Hurt and Gregg Heinselmann. Don Betz spoke to the issue. The motion passed unanimously.

**Proposal 5:** A motion was made to postpone proposal 5 by Karl Peterson and seconded by Bob Baker. The motion to postpone was passed by general consent.

**Proposal 6:** First reading of a motion from the Assessment Committee to change its duties.

**Proposal 7:** A motion from Academic Policy and Program Committee to approve a Psychology Department change in major requirements was first and seconded by Karl Peterson and John Heppen respectively. The motion passed by general consent.

**Adjournment:** Wes Chapin moved to adjourn at 5:25pm and the motion passed by general consent.

Respectively Submitted by John Heppen Secretary of UWRF Faculty Senate.