2013 Scholarship Recipients

Awarded April 2013 for 2013-14 Academic Year

Scholarship Award


Robert R. and M. Susan Beck Memorial Scholarship,
awarded to an outstanding sophomore or junior who is an English, English Education, or TESOL major with a minimum GPA of 3.0.

Madeline Kiley (TESOL)

Olaf and Grace Pilgrim Bloom Scholarship, awarded to students who are majoring in English.

Lizzy Bunton (English Education) 

Jennifer Giddings (Professional Writing)

Jesse Hoekstra (English Education)

The Chisholm-Engler Memorial Scholarship, awarded every year to a junior English major on the basis of achievement and promise in literary scholarship.

Janelle Wells (Literature)

The Nicholas J. and Inga Karolides English Education Scholarship, given to a senior who shows superior promise as an English teacher.

Jared Ley (English Education)

Vera M. Moss Memorial Scholarship, awarded to a junior or senior whose major resides in the College of Arts and Sciences, with preference given to an English Education major with minimum cumulative GPA of 3.3.  Preference given to a female student. 

Not awarded to an English major this year.

Mulvey-Williams Scholarship, awarded to a Freshman or Sophomore English major with 3.0 or higher GPA.

Not awarded in 2013.

Margaret Odegard Scholarship, awarded to an English major who will be a junior or senior with a minimum cumulative 3.0 GPA

Hanne Thompson (Literature)

The E. J. Prucha Memorial Scholarship, awarded to a sophomore who shows consistent excellence in writing.

Emily Johnson (Creative Writing)

Lloyd and Alberta Ruesink Endowed Scholarship, awarded to a student who has attained sophomore or junior status. Student must be enrolled in an English Education degree program, have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher, and have demonstrated financial need.

Not given to an English major in 2013.

Ruth and David Wood Scholarship, awarded to a junior, senior, or graduate student majoring in English Education. Must be a non-traditional student defined as one who is returning to school after an interruption in seeking a degree; or after pursuing a career other than teaching English; or returning to change career paths from something outside of education. Minimum GPA of 3.2 in English and education courses. Must demonstrate financial need. By the time of application, student must have received a 3.0 cumulative GPA in any of the following courses: Composition Theory; Literature for Adolescents; Techniques of Middle/Sec Ed English; Multicultural Education. 

No one applied in 2013.

The Helen K. White Memorial Scholarship, awarded to a student majoring in English, based on demonstrated financial need.

Ashley Detloff (English Education)

Each year the department also recognizes several outstanding students by book-purchase awards from the John S. Mikla Memorial Book Award fund.

Kelly Bienek

Laura Charnesky

Brianne Crichton

Ashley Croteau

Situ Lawson

Bennett Murphy

Amy Roth

Tyler Smith

Contact Us

English Department


M-F 7:45a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

241a Kleinpell Fine Arts