Student Group


Counseling and School Psychology

School Counseling Student Association

If you are admitted to the Counseling program, you are automatically a member of the School Counseling Student Association (SCSA), also referred to as the Student Group. We're always looking for up-and-coming leaders, so attend the meetings and see where you may be able to jump in and help.

Meetings are announced on the listserv. They typically occur once a month after classes.

The SCSA is always growing and evolving, based on student ideas. Currently, we are involved with the following activities:

  • Student Socials

    • A chance for new and current students to meet and mingle.
  • National School Counseling Week

    • Held the first week in February, activities often include keynote speakers, advocacy for the profession and volunteer opportunities which give back to the community.
  • Comprehensive Exam Study Groups

    • Student leaders help organize study groups for students preparing to take the Comprehensive Exam.
  • Conference Alumni Events

    • Help coordinate planning for the alumni events held during WSCA and MSCA conferences.
  • Wisconsin School Counselor Association and Minnesota School Counselor Association Conferences

    • Attend professional conferences to learn more about the profession and expand your resume.
  • New Student Orientation

    • Help newly admitted students become acquainted with the program. 
  • Open House Volunteers

    • Meet prospective students and talk about why YOU chose UWRF.
  • Professional Organization Student Representatives

    • Volunteer to become more involved with the professional organizations (i.e., MSCA and WSCA), and advocate their importance to the broader student community.



Current Student Leaders

  • Co-Presidents: Will Erickson & Krysta Hoyer
  • Treasurer: Tori Walsh
  • Secretary: Vanessa Mercer
  • Professional Org Reps: Alec Shern & Audrey Williams
  • Co-Media Specialists: Katie Brogan, Audrey Williams & Donyal Eret
  • Co-Chief Strategists: Emily Spofford & Katie Brogan
  • Motivator in Chief: Bridget Kopp

Leaders are current for the 2020-2021 school year.

Check out past student leaders here.

Contact Student Group adviser, Michaela Sacra, for information on leadership opportunities!


Contact Us

Caroline Baker
Counseling Program Director
224 Wyman Education Building

Scott Woitaszewski
School Psychology Program Director
227 Wyman Education Building