School Psychology Scholarships

UW-River Falls School Psychology Program students are eligible for several scholarships. 

University-Based Scholarships:


  • The Marilyn L. Leifgren Scholarship. This scholarship supports students entering their third year in the School Psychology Graduate Program in good academic standing. Students may apply for this scholarship during the fall of their second year. An essay is required detailing leadership and involvement in the School Psychology Program as well as future goals and specific contributions to the School Psychology profession. For additional details and deadlines, search the scholarship information web page with search term "Leifgren." 

  • The Mary J. Crownhart Scholarship. The Crownhart scholarship is given annually to one student in the Department of Counseling & School Psychology. Any student from any year in either program may apply. The value of this one-time scholarship has typically been $1000 (may vary). Applicants for the Crownhart Scholarship should have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher and exhibit evidence of leadership qualities through involvement in professional or other organizations. For additional details and deadlines, search the scholarship information web page with the search term "Crownhart."

National and State School Psychology Scholarships:

  • Graduate student scholarships from the National Association of School Psychologists include the NASP-ERT Minority Scholarship. The value of this scholarship is $5000. UW-RF School Psychology Student Brooke Fails earned this award in 2009. See the link above for details.

  • Students who are also members of the Wisconsin School Psychologists Association (WSPA) are eligible for three distinct scholarships: the WSPA Allard Award (general scholarship), the WSPA Minority Scholarship Award, and the WSPA Bernice Krolasik Award (intended for non-traditional students). These scholarships are usually valued up to $1500. Numerous UW-River Falls School Psychology Program students have received these WSPA awards. Link to the WSPA webpage for membership and scholarship details (under the resources tab in the menu bar)


  • Advanced Opportunity Program (AOP) Fellowship. This grant is for minority graduate students or non-minority disadvantaged graduate students. Eligibility: Based on African American, Hispanic, American Indian, Alaskan Native, Southeast Asian ethnicity; or being an economically disadvantaged non-minority graduate student. Must be admitted into a degree-seeking graduate program and must be enrolled in at least 2 credits per semester. Application deadlines are typically during the spring semester. Please submit the application to the address on the form. Tuition/fee charges (at the WI resident rate) plus an amount for book/supplies each fall and spring semester; summer grants are dependent on remaining funding.
  • The School Psychology Program offers up to three $150 research grants per academic year. These grants are intended to support department student research/program evaluation projects (SPSY 795 & SPSY 798). Both Counseling and School Psychology students are eligible. See the grant application for additional details. 


  • Ethel McDonald Ellis was a faculty member at River Falls Normal School from 1916 to 1918.  In 1963, she established a fund through the UWRF Foundation to provide short-term loans to students. The Ethel McDonald Ellis Loan Fund is administered by First National Bank of River Falls on behalf of the UWRF Foundation.  Short-term, no interest loans are available for qualified purposes. See: Ethel McDonald Ellis Loan Fund

Contact Us

231 Wyman Education Building

School Psychology
227 Wyman Education Building