

# Minutes of the UWRF Faculty Senate for May 22, 2009 Vol. 34 No. 2.

Representation	Term Expires 2010	Term Expires 2011	Term Expires 2012
CAFES	Kris Hiney	Laine Vignona	
	Wes Chapin	Patricia Berg	
	Karl Peterson	John Heppen	
		Jennifer Willis-	
CAS		Rivera	David Rainville
COEPS		Hilary Pollack**	Todd Savage**
CBE		Dawn Hukai	Hossein Najafi
	Kristie Feist**		
	(Larry Testa)	Valerie Malzacher**	
4th Division	Kristen Hendrickson**	(Lisa Pillow)	Barbara Stinson
			Robyne Tiedeman**
		Kathleen Hunzer	
	Sarah Parks		
		Dennis Cooper	Marshall Toman
At Large	David Furniss**		Dawn Hukai**
	Terry Brown* **		
	(Doug Johnson)		

\* Chancellor's Designee

\*\* Absent

() Substitute

Call to Order: David Rainville called the meeting to order at 1:02 pm

**Seating of Substitutes:** Lisa Pillow for Valerie Malzacher, Larry Testa for Kristie Feist, and Doug Johnson for Terry Brown

### **Recognition of Invited Guests:**

Approval of Minutes:

### **Chair's Report:**

The following individuals have been elected to the termination committee: David Trechter, Hamid Tabesh and Kristen Cernohous. Kristen Hendrickson had a baby boy – Andrew Ray.

### Vice Chair's Report:

**Other Reports**:

**Unfinished Business** 

New Business Consent Agenda:

### New Business:

1. Faculty Senate Parliamentarian

The senate moved to accept John Heppen as the parliamentarian by acclimation.

2. A motion from the Executive Committee to approve the following *ad hoc* committee pursuant to Section 4.4.3.1(d):

Ad hoc Committee to consider denial of tenure due to impermissible factors/ Chair (non-voting): David Trechter (UW-River Falls)

Ed Erdman (tenured Assistant Professor of English, former Faculty Senate Chair, UW-Whitewater)

Sharon Jessee (Professor of English, UW-La Crosse)

Christine Roth (Associate Professor of English, UW-Oshkosh)

Scott Oates (Professor of English, UW-Eau Claire)

Mark Balhorn (Professor of English, UW-Stevens Point)

Discussion – A request was sent to the Deans of the appropriate colleges across the System (with the exception of Madison or Milwaukee as they do not share the same mission) to suggest individuals to serve on the committee. The meeting is scheduled for next Tuesday. This will be an off campus decision.

John Heppen moved to approve the committee and was seconded by Hossein Najafi.

The motion was approved, 15 for, 1 abstention and 1 oppposed.

# New Business Miscellaneous:

Dennis Cooper moved to adjourn and was seconded by Barbara Stinson.

# Adjournment at 1:14 p.m.