

Minutes of the UWRF Faculty Senate for February 20, 2008 Vol. 32 No. 11.

Representation	Term Expires 2010	Term Expires 2008	Term Expires 2009
CAFES	Kris Hiney	Laine Vignona**	
	Wes Chapin	Patricia Berg	
	Karl Peterson	John Heppen	Peter Johansson**
CAS			
			Michael Miller**
COEPS		Ogden Rogers	(Gay Ward) ()
CBE			Glenn Potts
	Kristie Feist	Gregg Heinselman**	
4th Division	Kristen Hendrickson		Sarah Egerstrom
		Brenda Boetel (Jr)	Melissa Wilson (Jr)
	Sarah Parks (Jr)	Dawn Hukai (Sr)	David Rainville (Sr)**
	David Furniss (Sr)		Terry Ferriss (Sr)
At Large			
	Connie Foster*		

* Chancellor's Designee

** Absent

() Substitute

Call to Order: David Furniss called the meeting to order at 3:35 pm

Seating of Substitutes: Gay Ward for Michael Miller

Guests: Sandy Soares, Mike Middleton

Approval of Minutes from February 6, 2008

Sarah Parks motioned to approve minutes and was seconded by Glenn Potts Corrections:

Karl Peterson was absent from meeting, NID is actually item, "Korea" instead of Lorea-, and David Furniss expressed a desire to have more information concerning items posted in the agenda.

Approval of Minutes with corrections 12 yes 0 opposed 2 abstentions: Minutes approved

Chair's Report: David Rainville was absent as he was attending meetings in Madison. Vice Chair's Report: none Other Reports: none

Consent agenda:

- 1. Proposal from AP&P to approve changes to MS in Communicative Disorders and MSE in Communicative Disorders.
- 2. The Executive Committee proposes the replacement of Maureen Olie-Lajoie (2007-2009) a current member of the Information System Committee (ISC) to replace Sandy Oftedahl who has resigned. Maureen is currently a member of the IITC.
- 3. The Executive Committee proposes the replacement of Cynthia Kernahan who has resigned from the Diversity Committee with Jose Vega (2007-2010).
- 4. The Executive Committee proposed the appointment of Michael Kahlow and Glenn Spiczak to serve an administrative task force (VSA Taskforce) which will be responsible for shaping our college/university portrait. Both faculty members are members of the External Relations Committee. VSA is an acronym for the Voluntary System of Accountability.
- 5. The Executive Committee proposes the replacement of Mary Halada with Kelly Cain as chair of the Sustainability Task Force. Mary will remain on the task force. The other members on the task force include the four confirmed by Faculty Senate last fall, Brian Copp, Judith Raback Wagener, Glenn Potts, and Dean Olson. It also includes Dale Gallenberg, Jerry Waller, Greg Koehler, and Mike Stifter. The student (Matt Meyer) originally appointed to this task force has graduated. Informally, four students were allowed to join this task force. This proposal includes their membership on the task force with the first three not being replaced. These students are Josh Breyer, Nick Bisley, Stacy Dekkers, and Ashley Styczinski. The task force will have a permanent membership of eleven members including one student and one member from each of the colleges. In the interim it will have fourteen members and through attrition (student graduation) it will reach the number eleven.

Wes Chapin requested that item 5 be removed from the consent agenda in order to allow discussion on the floor. Item 5 was removed to New Business.

Glen Potts moved to approve items 1-4 and was seconded by Kristen Hendrickson. 13 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions. Items approved.

Old Business: none

New Business

1. Ogden Rogers – Proposal from Executive Committee (handout) First Reading of motion from the Executive Committee:

The Faculty Senate Executive Committee has the power to declare an emergency that requires a University response prior to the next meeting of the Faculty Senate. In such emergencies, the Faculty Senate Executive Committee shall represent the Faculty and act emergently for the Senate for the purposes of shared governance. Any action of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee implemented during a time of emergency will be brought to the Faculty Senate for deliberation and action at the next scheduled meeting of the Faculty Senate.

Originally it was believed by the Executive Committee that this motion represented a change in the By-Laws, and required a second reading by Faculty Senate as well as being voted on by the faculty.

In actuality, it would represent an addition to the constitution in sect. 6-D thus no second reading is necessary. Due to incorrect posting in the agenda as the first reading, Terry Ferriss motioned to postpone the vote on this item and was seconded by Wes Chapin.

All in favor 14 Opposed 1 Abstentions 0; motion to postpone passed.

2) First reading of a motion from the Executive Committee: to include a preface [Motion 2006/2007#65] to the Faculty/Staff Handbook.

Requires a second reading, thus no action taken.

3) First reading of a motion from the Executive Committee: to adopt the revision to Chapter Three of the Faculty/Staff Handbook.

Discussion: Series of questions from Sandy about changes to the handbook. Would language concerning the 4th division alter alignment? Open discussion about memo from Chancellor Betz to Wes Chapin regarding motion #64 and 68 which has been signed by the Chancellor. There is no capability of the Chancellor to rescind a motion once he has signed it as the Handbook does not allow this action. It was believed that he rescinded the motion on the grounds that it was illegal. However, it was never verified with any legal authority that it was indeed illegal. It was suggested that somehow the UW System may give the Chancellor the power to rescind motions that would supercede the UWRF Faculty Senate.

Terry Ferriss offered a suggestion to compose a letter to the Chancellor informing him that as no power to rescind exists, motions 64 and 68 still exist. For there to be a change, an alternative motion should be created and sent to the Senate. Wes Chapin asked the Provost Connie Foster to speak with Chancellor Betz about removing this memo from the official files.

It was discussed that the language not be removed from page 12 of Chapter III in the new revision of the Handbook as the motions were indeed signed and thus should be included.

4. Item #5 from the New Business Consent Agenda

Replacement of Mary Halada with Kelly Cain as chair on the Sustainability Task Force.

Glenn Potts moved to approve the motion, and was seconded by Melissa Wilson Wes Chapin moved to amend the motion so that this committee should expire on December 31 of 2008 barring approval from Faculty Senate.

2nd by John Heppen

Clarification was made that this is not an official committee, only a working group All in favor of the amendment to the motion: 16

0 opposed

0 abstentions

Approval of amended motion: 16 Opposed -0Abstentions -0Final motion approved.

Ogden Rogers moved to adjourn the meeting and was seconded by Kris Hiney Meeting adjourned at 4:30pm.