

Faculty Senate • http://www.uwrf.edu/faculty_senate/welcome.html
Senators: Chair – Wes Chapin , Vice Chair – Ogden Rogers, Secretary – John Heppen, Executive Committee – Glenn Potts, Brenda Boetel

January 31, 2007 Date:

To: Faculty Senate and University Community

From: Wes Chapin, Faculty Senate Chair

Subject: Tentative Agenda for Faculty Senate Meeting January 31, 2007

The 2006-2007 Faculty Senate will meet on Wednesday January 31, 2007 at 3:40pm in Room 334 of the University Center. Faculty Senators who cannot attend should arrange for a substitute and notify John Heppen at john.heppen@uwrf.edu http://www.uwrf.edu/faculty_senate/

Agenda January 31, 2007

Call to Order:

Seating of Substitutes Recognition of Invited Guests Approval of Minutes from January 16, 2006

Reports:

Unfinished Business:

New Business: none

New Business Miscellaneous: Discussion regarding Strategic Planning:

Adjournment:



Faculty Senate • http://www.uwrf.edu/faculty_senate/welcome.html Senators: Chair - Wes Chapin, Vice Chair - Ogden Rogers, Secretary - John Heppen, Executive Committee - Glenn Potts, Brenda Boetel

Minutes of the UWRF Faculty Senate for January 16, 2007 Vol. 31 No. 15.

Representation	Term Expires 2007	Term Expires 2008	Term Expires 2009
		Laine Vignona	
CAFES	Bob Baker		
		Patricia Berg (David	Peter Johansson
CAS	Wes Chapin	Furniss)	

	Larry Harred**	John Heppen	
	Barbara Werner**		
			Michael Miller
COEPS		Ogden Rogers	
CBE			Glenn Potts
4th Division	Cara Rubis (Kristie Feist)	Gregg Heinselman	Sarah Egerstrom
		Brenda Boetel (Jr)	Melissa Wilson (Jr)
	Karl Peterson (Jr)	Dawn Hukai (Sr)	David Rainville**(Sr)
	Nan Jordahl (Sr)		Terry Ferriss (Sr)
At Large			
	Charlie Hurt* (Mary		
	Halada)		

- * Chancellor's Designee
- ** Absent
- () Substitute

Call to Order: W. Chapin called the meeting to order at 3:20 pm in the Room 334 of the University Center.

Seating of Substitutes: Kristie Feist for Cara Rubis, David Furniss for Patricia Berg, Mary Halada for Charlie Hurt

Guests: Tim Buttles of Assessment Committee, Lowel McCann of UCC, Blake Fry Dean-Stdt Dev/Campus Diversity

Approval of Minutes: The minutes of December 20, 2006 were approved as corrected by general consent.

Chair's Report:

- Wes Chapin announced that if there was no objection the agenda items would be presented in a different order to accommodate visitors.
- Wes Chapin reminded Senators of the importance of recruiting future Senators.
- Wes Chapin asked the Senate for its opinion regarding reports by Committee Chairs and the time necessary for the reports. Senators replied that if meetings are long then reports should be forgone. Other suggestions included effectively enforcing time limits and having written reports included in the agenda.
- Wes Chapin reported that there may be proposal from the Board of Regents to eliminate colleague coverage and force faculty to use sick-leave instead.

Unfinished Business: none

New Business:

Proposal 8: A motion from the University Curriculum Committee to approve new course proposal and course transmittal documents was moved by Michael Miller and seconded by Sarah Egerstrom. Lowell McCann spoke to the issue. The motion passed unanimously with 17 yes votes.

Proposal 9: A motion from the Assessment Committee to approve the Academic Program Assessment Timeline was moved by John Heppen and seconded by Peter Johansson. Tim Buttles spoke to the issue. The motion passed unanimously with 17 yes votes.

Proposal 4: Second reading of a motion from the Executive Committee to create a new Diversity Committee by dissolving five current committees into one new committee. Ogden Rogers and Gregg Heinselman first and seconded the motion respectively. Blake Fry spoke to the issue. The motion passed unanimously with 17 yes votes.

Proposal 5: Second reading of a motion from the Faculty Senate Executive Committee to approve the following appointments, terms, and chair as indicated in bold to the new Diversity Committee. Michelle Wilson and David Furniss first and seconded the motion respectively. The motion passed unanimously with 17 yes votes.

Proposal 1: Second reading of a motion from the Executive Committee to move the Calendar Committee to Chapter III of the Handbook (i.e. to the list of committees in alphabetical order, renumbering/re-alphabetizing all of the committees in Chapter II and Chapter III as necessary), and approve the revised committee description. Peter Johansson and Gregg Heinselmann first and seconded the motion respectively. Glenn Potts offered a friendly amendment to strike item 2. There was no objection to the friendly amendment. The main motion passed by general consent.

Proposal 2: Second reading of a motion from the Executive Committee to move the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee to Chapter III of the Handbook (i.e. to the list of committees in alphabetical order, renumbering/re-alphabetizing all of the committees in Chapter III as necessary), approve the committee's description, and to amend the committee description of the Faculty Welfare and Personnel Policy Committee as indicated below. John Heppen and Gregg Heinselmann first and seconded the motion respectively. Terry Ferriss asked a question about the legal aspects in adhering to equal opportunity and affirmative action guidelines. Wes Chapin replied that the Office of EOAA was responsible for those matters. The motion passed unanimously with 18 yes votes.

Proposal 3: Motion from the Executive Committee to confirm the following appointment terms (in bold), effective immediately to the Affirmative Action Advisory Committee.

Karl Peterson and Bob Baker first and seconded the motion respectively. The motion passed by general consent.

Proposal 6: Second Reading of a motion from the Executive Committee creating a combined Learning Resources Committee and disband the following committees. Nan Jordahl and Terry Ferriss first and seconded the motion respectively. Terry Ferriss moved to amend the motion by inserting with at least 1 from each college after Five faculty members to read 1. Membership: Five faculty members with at least 1 from each college, a representative of the Faculty/Academic Staff Development Board, the Provost (or designee), the Director of the Library (or designee), the Director of the Foundation (or designee), and two students. Nan Jordahl seconded. The amendment passed by general consent. The main motion as amended passed by general consent.

Proposal 7: Second reading of a motion from the Executive Committee to amend Chapter III of the *Handbook*, replacing the current language for the Athletic Committee with the language below, to renumber/re-alphabetize the chapter appropriately, to make the changes to both the committee's duties and the terms for student and faculty members effective immediately and to make the membership structure changes effective at the time appointments to committees occur during spring 2007. Terry Ferriss and Ogden Rogers first and seconded the motion. The motion passed by general consent.

Miscellaneous Business: none

Strategic Planning Discussion: Brief discussion about the Strategic Planning Prioritization. Bob Baker stated that the Strategic Planning Steering Committee went through all the goals and ranked them. Wes Chapin reported that the Strategic Planning Prioritization Committee prioritized the initiatives into four categories.

Adjournment: Wes Chapin announced that we could cancel Faculty Senate meeting for January 24, 2007. Nan Jordahl and Ogden Rogers first and seconded a motion to cancel the January 24, 2007 meeting. The motion passed by general consent. David Furniss moved to adjourn at 4:01pm. John Heppen seconded and it passed by general consent.

Respectfully submitted

John Heppen Secretary of the UW-River Falls Faculty Senate