UWRF Pennant


School Counseling Student Association

If you are admitted to the Counseling program, you are automatically a member of the School Counseling Student Association (SCSA). We're always looking for up-and-coming leaders, so attend the meetings and see where you may be able to jump in and help.

Meetings are announced on the listserv and on Facebooklink. They typically occur after classes on Mondays or Thursdays for about 30 minutes.

The SCSA is always growing and evolving, based on student ideas. Currently, we are involved with the following activities:

  • Welcome Back Student Socials

    • A chance for new and current students to learn about the program at the beginning of both fall and spring semesters.
  • National School Counseling Week

    • Held the first week in February, activities often include keynote speakers, advocacy for the profession and volunteer opportunities which give back to the community.
  • Comprehensive Exam Study Groups

    • Student leaders help organize study groups for students preparing to take the exam.
  • Conference Alumni Events

    • Help coordinate planning for the alumni events held during WSCAlink and MSCAlink
  • Attend the Wisconsin School Counselor Association and the Minnesota School Counselors Association Conferences

    • This is a great way to become more involved with the school counseling profession and to build your resume.
  • New Student Orientation Volunteers

    • Help newly admitted students learn about the program at their on-campus orientation.
  • Professional Organization Student Representatives

    • These are student volunteers who want to become more involved with the professional organizations, as well as to advocate their importance to the broader student community.

To find out more, go to OrgSynclink and our student group. Contact the SCSA Adviser, Caroline Bakermail, with questions.


Current Student Leaders

2014-2015 President: Laura Favreau and Jack Pauly

2013-2015 Treasurer: Jason Ferkinhoff, Kelsey Olin, Justin Larson

Professional Organization Representatives
2014-2015: Katerina Youngberg and Stephanie Orfei

Past Presidents:
2010-2011: Ashley Welke
2011-2012: Val Fogolin
2011-2012: Josh Rutz
2012-2013: Janet Residorfer
2013: Caitlin Usset

Past Treasurers:
2011-2012: Ben Herman
2012-2013: Alyssa Belko
2013-2014: Jason Ferkinhoff

Past Professional Org Reps:
2013-2014: JoAnna Schwarze and Emily Rose
2012-2013: Ben Herman, Rachael Anderson, Katie Layman, Jessica Swenson, Kayla Gaulke

Contact Caroline Baker you're interested in participating, or if you have an idea that could benefit students. We need you!

Contact Us

231 Wyman Education Building

School Psychology
227 Wyman Education Building