Ag Education teacher candidate Lea Zuern talks with a student


Welcome to the Agricultural Education Department

The Agricultural Education department at UWRF prepares students for successful roles in education, leadership and communication to meet the needs of the global agriculture community through educational, professional development and service activities.

We offer the following programs:

The department also provides opportunities for teachers with a current WI license in another area to add certification in agricultural education or for agricultural education teachers to add certification in a science area. Please contact Tim Buttles for information on the opportunities for add on certification.

Ag Ed Updates

Student Spotlights

Ag education majors Alexandra Klapoetke and Brittany Rambatt received the Chancellor's Award for Students.

Ag education major Alexandra Klapoetke's research on ag education teacher turnover in Wisconsin is featured in an article published in The Country Today. Read more

Ag education majors Shelbie Rochel and Abbey Weninger selected to attend Future Agriculture Teacher Symposium in Sioux Falls, SD. Learn more

Ag education majors Tyler Foote and Nathanial Nolden receive NAAE scholarships. Learn more

Alumni Spotlights

Ag education department alumnus Joseta Halbur received a 2017 WHY Friend award from the Wisconsin Junior Holstein Association.

Ag education alumnus Bill Emery, ag education teacher at St. Croix Central high school, was featured in the New Richmond News for his work promoting teachers' mental health. Read more

Ag education alumni Rachel Sauvola, ag education teacher at New Richmond high school, and Dustin Williams, lead agriculture instructor at Blackhawk Technical College, are featured in front page articles in The Country Today. Read more about Rachel and Dustin

Several UWRF agricultural education alumni will be recognized at the 2016 National Association of Agricultural Educators Convention:

  • Jim Ertl - Regional Citation for Outstanding Service
  • Cal Geiger - Regional Citation for Lifetime Achievement
  • Jamie Propson - Regional Outstanding Young Member Award & Teachers Turn the Kay Scholarship
  • Dave Kruse - Regional Outstanding Middle/Secondary Ag Ed Program Award
  • Mary Hoffman - Teacher Mentor
  • Jeanna James & Jim Melby - XLR8 - eXcellence in Leadership for Retention

Important Dates

May 12 - Ag Education Student Teaching Seminar

May 13 - Spring Commencement

Contact Us

Agricultural Education
Ph: 715-425-3555
Fax: 715-425-3785
Location: 131 Agricultural Science Building
Mailing Address: 410 S. 3rd St., River Falls, WI 54022
Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Linked In Icon InstaGram Icon